Tags

, , , , , , ,

Praying for my husband is always a humbling experience. I inevitably end up praying that I won’t be a hindrance to him and that somehow I will be the “helpmeet” he needs. I trust that God will continue to make me in His image, just as He is doing for my husband.

Dear Father in heaven, give my husband the strength and endurance he needs to love me as Christ loved the church when He gave Himself for her. Give my husband an unquenchable thirst for Your Word so that he can lead me and our family in Your truth. Help him to love me as he loves his own body, to nourish and provide for me as he would himself. As he loves me, help him to patiently choose to not be embittered with me when we disagree, help me to never give him reason to! Please, help him to live with me in an understanding way, recognizing my weaknesses and making provision for them. Let his prayers never be hindered because he honors me as a partner and fellow inheritor in the grace given to us by our salvation through Christ Jesus.

For further meditation:

Ephesians 5:25-33, Colossians 3:19, 1 Peter 3:7

What is your responsibility to pray for your spouse?
How have you been accomplishing this?
What improvements are you going to make this week to be more faithful to fulfilling this responsibility?

20130909-081205.jpg

